Welcome to the website of Telluride House at the University of Michigan! Telluride House is a merit-based residential scholarship committed to establishing a vibrant community supporting our three pillars: democratic ideals of self-governance, a stimulating intellectual environment, and a commitment to public service. 


Past winners of the Telluride scholarship include notable figures from a wide range of disciplines including: World Bank President Paul Wolfowitz, U.S. Secretary of Labor Frances Perkins, philosophers Michel Foucault and Francis Fukuyama, postmodern scholar Gayatri Spivak, Dean of Stanford Law School Kathleen Sullivan, gender and queer theory scholar Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick, and several Nobel prize winners including Steven Weinberg, Linus Pauling, and Richard Feynman.


Housemembers (all on room and board scholarship at the House) range from freshmen to Ph.D students, and are joined in residence by faculty fellows from several fields. By living with a commitment to our self-governing community, Telluride House strives to foster the moral and intellectual growth of its members.


Our Three Pillars

Click on the icons below to learn more about our three pillars.

Allow us to introduce ourselves...